What Are User Roles?
User roles are a new feature for managing team members. With this feature, team owners can grant team members permissions to start and stop WordPress, generate and deploy deliverables, or edit posts. For instructions on how to add or edit roles, please refer to the support document “
Roles and Permissions
The following explains each role and its permissions.
- Owner: The Owner is a user role that can manage everything on Shifter. Owners can start and stop WordPress, register and delete domain names, create or delete sites and teams, generate and publish deliverables, and modify billing information.
- Administrator (e.g., Site Manager): Site Managers can start and stop WordPress, generate and publish deliverables, register domain names for sites belonging to their team, attach or detach sites from the team, and invite other users to the team.
- Editor (e.g., Member): Members can start and stop their team’s WordPress and generate deliverables.
- Publisher (e.g., Editor): Publishers can start and stop the team’s WordPress instance but cannot publish deliverables. “Auto-publish” is disabled for this user.
List of Roles and Their Permitted Actions
All user roles are permitted to start, stop, and log in to the team’s WordPress instance.
- The Contributor (e.g., Editor) role is permitted to do all of the above.
- The Editor (e.g., Member) role is permitted to do everything the Contributor (e.g., Editor) role can do. Additionally, they can perform the following actions:
- Create, preview, and download deliverables belonging to the team.
- Deploy deliverables.
- Administrator (e.g., Site Manager) Role is permitted to do everything the Editor (e.g., Member) role can do. Additionally, they can perform the following actions:
- Attach or detach domain names* to sites belonging to the team.
- Manage domain names* belonging to the team.
- Invite one or more users to the team or remove them from the team.
- The Owner role is permitted to do everything that the Administrator (e.g., Site Manager) role can do. Additionally, the following actions are permitted:
- Create, rename, and delete sites.
- Create, rename, and delete teams.
- Register, delete, and assign domain names to sites.
- Update billing information.
* Only if payment information is registered for the account