If you no longer need a site or want to move it out of Shifter, you can delete it. Please note the following before deleting a site.
Important: This process will permanently delete the site and all associated data. This action cannot be undone. While the site will be deleted, your Shifter account will remain active.If you want to delete all your sites and close your account, see the article “How to Close Your Account.”
Steps to Delete a Site
-
Go to the site you want to delete.
-
Remove all associated custom domains.
- From the site menu, click “Domains,” then click the [Unlink Domain] button.
-
Go to “Settings.”
-
(Optional) If “Prevent deletion of this site” is enabled, disable it.
-
Click “Prevent deletion of this site.”
-
Deletion protection has been disabled.
-
Scroll down to the “Delete Site” section.
-
Click “Delete.”
-
For verification, enter “
delete” in the field. -
Click “Delete” to continue.
-
The site has been successfully deleted.
Note: If you see the error message “Failed to delete the site,” please check the section in Step 2: “Delete all associated custom domains.”