Transferring and Assigning Site Ownership

What is a site ownership transfer?

A site ownership transfer involves assigning all rights, resources, and billing subscriptions associated with the site to a new user, without any loss or deletion of data.

Note:

  • Former Owner: Once a site is transferred, the former owner loses access to the site on the Shifter dashboard. If you still need access, please ask the new owner to send you a team invitation.
  • New Owner: The new owner must register a valid credit card to pay the subscription fees for the transferred site.

Submitting a Site Transfer Request from the Previous Owner

Steps for the user who wants to transfer the site:

  1. Log in to the Shifter dashboard.
  2. Go to the site you want to transfer.
  3. Click [Transfer Site] under [Subscription].
  4. Enter the new owner’s username. Only usernames are accepted; email addresses are not accepted.
  5. Enter the username of the new owner to whom you wish to transfer the site, then click [Submit Transfer Request].
  6. The site transfer request has been sent to the new owner.

Receiving and Processing a Site Transfer Request by the New Owner

Steps for the user who wants to accept the site transfer:

  1. Log in to the Shifter dashboard.
  2. Pending transfers will be displayed, along with the site being transferred.
  3. Click the [Approve] button for the site.
  4. Type “confirm” in the text field and click [Approve].
  5. @default Go to your team and verify that the transferred site has been @default added to your team.